Saturday, 28 September 2013

Upcoming benefit compilation CD to feature unreleased tracks by Thee Oh Sees, Cave Singers, Elf Power & more

At three years old, Ryan Benton was diagnosed with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy,a degenerative and deadly condition that saw him given a life expectancy of late teens to early twenties at most. In the fall of 2008 he had to make the journey out of the USA to Costa Rica to be treated for the first time with adult stem cells; a natural treatment that then and now is currently banned in the USA. After receiving his first treatment and against the odds, Ryan began gaining back strength and has since gone back on seven separate trips for continued treatment.

With the help of Air House Records, Ryan has put together a second benefit compilation CD 'Coming Together for a cure, Vol 2' to help fund stem cell research and treatment in the US. It features fifteen awesome tracks, including previously unreleased material from Thee Oh Seas, Elf Power, Springs, The Wonder Revolution, Music Wrong, Golden Boots, Sleeping In The Aviary, Sunshine Dreamers, Bellafonte and Cave Singers. Proceeds will go entirely towards helping fund adult stem cell therapy and research in the US and the compilation is due to be released on October 29th.

Below, we have the track listing, a stream of one of our favourite songs from the compilation and a lovely video documenting one of Ryan's trips from Kansas to Panama for treatment. It also features interviews from Ryan, his family and his friends on how this treatment has changed their lives as well as his. Spread the word, support the cause, look out for the CD, help make a difference.

Coming Together For A Cure, Vol. 2 Tracklist:
01. Miracle Days – 'Miracle Days' 
02. Springs – 'Waste My Time' 
03. Thee Oh Sees – 'The Factory Reacts'
04. The Wonder Revolution – 'Cloud Wonder Sky'
05. Music Wrong – 'Clyde' 
06. Student Film – 'Facts and Values'
07. Shine Brothers – 'So Many People'
08. Elf Power – '1494'
09. Cave Singers – 'Ohio Nights'
10. Golden Boots – 'Be My Champ'
11. Gentle Ghost – 'Oblivion Tide'
12. Sleeping in the Aviary – 'Long Gone'
13. Sunshine Dreamers – 'Empty Nest'
14. Bellafonte – 'Sea of Trees'
15. Beau Jennings & the Tigers – 'Sweet Action'


Post a Comment